Rice is Nice – Vegetarianism?

Over the course of the last few months I have really been plagued with a distaste for eating meat and it’s not normal because throughout my 22 years on this planet I have been eating meat. And enjoying eating meat, so whats changed? What happened to me to make me consider the possibilities of living as a ‘veggie’? Well one thing I can put forth is this experience of washing up the remains of very poor quality processed meat, you know the really white, thick and greasy fat. The stuff that even water can’t cope with well that shit exists because we live in a culture that does not mind rearing animals. Manipulating a form of life to feed our insatiable appetite! so rather than seeking alternative means to gain nutrition we would rather just kill for it. We humans are  omnivorous so because of our higher conscious self awareness we should be inclined to say no to something just because it tastes good and we have been eating it for hundreds of years does not mean that we cant choose to change for the greater good of our environment.

Indian emperor Ashoka asserted protection to fauna: “Twenty-six years after my coronation various animals were declared to be protected — parrots, mainas,aruna, ruddy geese, wild ducks, nandimukhas, gelatas, bats, queen ants, terrapins, boneless fish, vedareyakagangapuputakasankiya fish, tortoises, porcupines, squirrels, deer, bulls, okapinda, wild asses, wild pigeons, domestic pigeons and all four-footed creatures that are neither useful nor edible. Those nanny goats, ewes and sows which are with young or giving milk to their young are protected, and so are young ones less than six months old. Cocks are not to be caponized, husks hiding living beings are not to be burnt and forests are not to be burnt either without reason or to kill creatures. One animal is not to be fed to another.” —Edicts of Ashoka, Fifth Pillar

It’s really a question of if you believe that eating meat every week is important to your health and your existence because I am starting to believe that getting my protein else where is a good idea. I do not want to live  a life of servitude I wants to live a life of what Rasta’s would call ‘Livity’ meaning more life and more prosperity. And I am at this current point in my life really deliberating the need for meat it for me is an ethical thing, we are already engaged in killing our planet and subsequently our selves. This earth for all we know could be the only one we have, the only place where trees and great forests will convert co2 in to oxygen. My opinion exists because I have read about spiritual practices such as Rastafarianism and Buddhism and as part of their beliefs they practice vegetarianism. Im not saying I am Buddhist or a Rasta or even that Vegetarianism is innately spiritual I am saying that the growing of plants and greenery is one more attuned to working with nature rather than against it. Perhaps in the future the visions of humans and plants inhabiting and co-existing will look like something from the mind of Friedensreich Regentag Dunkelbunt Hundertwasser.     

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

